Contact | Sitemap | Forum | Facebook | Twitter
Contact | Forum | Facebook | Twitter

Airshow News & Press Releases


RIAT 2002 Trophy Winners

The King Hussein Memorial Sword (Best Overall) Lieutenants Francois Breton and Guillaume Coeffin of 3/33 Squadron, French Air Force, flew two Mirage F1s to victory as the best pilots of RIAT 2002.

The Lockheed Martin Cannestra Trophy (Best Overseas Participant) The elegant Royal Jordanian Falcons won this category, but Special Mention goes to Heritage Flight P-51 Mustang and P-47 Thunderbolt fighters.

The Steedman Display Sword (Best UK Participant) The 'As the Crow Flies' Trophy (awarded by the Friends of RIAT) A double win for Royal Navy pilots Lieutenant Commander Rob Schwab and Lieutenant Will Hynett of 899 Squadron at RNAS Yelvilton flying two Sea Harrier FA2s.

The Shell Oil UK 'Sir Douglas Bader Trophy' (Best Individual Flying Display) Captain Rick Van Der Delden of 312 Squadron, Royal Netherlands Air Force at Volkel Air Base coaxed the very best from his F-16 to win this award.

The Solo Jet Aerobatic Trophy (Best Single Jet Demonstration) A win for the Royal Air Force and Flight Lieutenant Tony Cann of 20 Squadron, RAF Wittering, in a Harrier GR7 display that proved one of the most popular of RIAT 2002.